Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Alambic's Passions
Alambic's Passions
Publicité
Archives
22 avril 2011

Chai Tea Recipe

Here is my favorite Chai recipe.  After few tests, I came up with this specific combination of ingredients to fit my personal taste.

Ingredients:

- 3-1/2 cups of water

- 1/2 cup of milk

- 2 pods of cardamom (I prefer black, but green works well too)

- 4 cloves

- A one inch stick of cinnamon

- A piece of ginger (a "cube" of about 1/2inch)

- 1 teaspoon of Indian black loose leaf tea (2 bags of regular Red Rose works well too)

Preparation:

1. Bring your water to boil

2. In a small pan over medium heat, roast the spices (cardamom, cloves, and cinnamon) for few minutes, until they start smelling stronger.

3. Add to your water the spices, the ginger, and the tea.  Then add the milk and let simmer for about 5 minutes, or until the Chai starts getting a little thicker.

4. Strain and enjoy!

Trick:  I buy a big root of ginger, peel it, cut it into cubes, and freeze it.  When I want Chai, I put a cube of frozen ginger in my water.  It defrost really fast and you don't have to worry about losing your ginger if you don;t use it fast enough!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité